PDA

View Full Version : Anyone got install tips for edelbrock headers?

Malice
09-12-2008, 01:15 AM
I'm installing some edelbrock shorties tommorrow. It's my first time working on an LT1. I've worked on 3.8 v6 camaro's extensively, but this is my first V8.

Are there any hints/tips/tricks that will make the install easier?

Adam
09-12-2008, 01:25 AM
I ran edelbrock shorty headers before my long tubes. You need to remove the belt, alternator, valve covers, then remove the stock exhaust manifolds.

Now is a perfect time to install new plugs. The rear two plugs are impossible to change with these headers. so install new plugs and delicately install the headers.

The edelbrock shorties will install from the top. Insert the two outer bolts in the headers and slide the gasket in.

As I recall I burnt about 3 sets of plug wires. Do yourself a favor and get some over the valve cover wires.

http://thunderracing.com/images/summaryimages/thunderracing/plugwirerouting.jpg
http://thunderracing.com/catalog/?action=vshop&vid=4&pcid=104

phantomzer0
09-12-2008, 01:41 AM
I ran edelbrock shorty headers before my long tubes. You need to remove the belt, alternator, valve covers, then remove the stock exhaust manifolds.

Now is a perfect time to install new plugs. The rear two plugs are impossible to change with these headers. so install new plugs and delicately install the headers.

The edelbrock shorties will install from the top. Insert the two outer bolts in the headers and slide the gasket in.

As I recall I burnt about 3 sets of plug wires. Do yourself a favor and get some over the valve cover wires.

http://thunderracing.com/images/summaryimages/thunderracing/plugwirerouting.jpg
http://thunderracing.com/catalog/?action=vshop&vid=4&pcid=104

MSD actually offers a very nice kit that comes in multiple colors. I got them from a racing store.

SoulReaver
09-12-2008, 03:23 AM