Become a ltxtech.com member, Click here to register!
SSS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    The Nitrous Outlet Junkie

Status
    Name
    Troy
    Vehicle
    1994 Firebird Formula

Default EWP now car temp climbs

While I've been building my car I decided to do an electric water pump I love the idea and capability of circulating the coolant with the motor not running. I've driven the car about 300 miles and I noticed if I was driving down the highway the temperature would stay right around 180 degrees to me that's a little bit warm because I have a 160-degree thermostat. Now when I'm not on the highway and I'm just doing regular City driving the temperature will slowly climb and climb and I start getting nervous when it's about 220 I'll stop and let the car cool off circulating the water with the electric water pump and using the electric fans.

My theory is that with the electric water pump I might be pumping fluid through the radiator too quickly. I have deleted the heater box and the lower hose on the driver side of the radiator .... I am running some aftermarket electric fans to save weight but it's possible they may not be pulling enough air.

So I guess I need to ask the experts here do I need to put some Factory electric fans back on or do I need buy something to slow down the flow of water so it's been the more time in the radiator.

I shouldn't need to buy a bigger radiator because I've read several areas that the factory radiator works just fine well beyond my horsepower levels

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
    94 Formula "budget build" #thebeaterbird
    10.177 @128.31 on a lil 250 shot
    350, LT1, carb, LE grind cam, th400, 4k stall, ford 8.8 w/ 4.10s

Lurker

Status
    Name
    Joel
    Vehicle
    1996 camaro Police interceptor

Quote Originally Posted by zooguy View Post