Become a ltxtech.com member, Click here to register!
BP-Automotive

InActive Member

Status

Default Baer / Alcon Four Piston Front Pinchers. If doing this: READ THIS. Done it? HELP

Well... It wouldn't be a Camaro if something went smooth, so... guess how the brake job went.

I was going to finish the coil thing today, but decided to just toss on the spindles... so I shot back over to the junk yard to pick 'em up. Here's what he gave me.

No problem... I've never done this before, so it's a learnin' opportunity. EMBRACED!

Took 'em apart; the hard way... and got down to what I needed and decided to go the extra mile and took the right angle sanding wheel to 'em, primed and painted:

Then I went to work installing what we had:

96 Z LTx. 396 Forged Eagle BE, AFR195s, CR 12.5:1 Comp Ultra-Pro Mag1.6 RRs, Lt-4 Intake, 42lb FI, 58mm TB, Comp 292XFI Cam, Kook LTs, PerformaBuilt Lvl-3, SS 3600, 4" DS, Spooled Strange D-60 w/5.13s, BMR K-mem & A-arms, Hotchkis out back, Mazeire, MSD Digi-6 , Nano-N2O, 75 shot: 7.28 @ 95.7 1.6 60' - New Build: NA-SF 7.4 1.6 60' 93 Mph

InActive Member

Status

Then... things took a turn.

The geometry didn't work... put the rotor on and it didn't line up. And it didn't line up precisely the dimension of the Baer adapter bracket at 180 degrees. Shit...

So fuck it, a quick trip to the Home D for some cutting wheels for the grinder (two earlier trips had not managed to get them, but I have a nice new set of ratchet wrenches that were on sale...). Came back and 'fabbed' up the spindle to accommodate the bracket. PERFECT! :

And everything went beautifully for a little bit... Geometry problem solved!

OH! AND VIVA LE DIFFERENCE!

All that was left to do was put the wheel on and go to the other side...

Wheel... does not fit!

:bang: :flipbird: :bang: :flipbird: :bang: :flipbird: :bang: :flipbird:

So, tomorrow we begin looking for the solution for that unforeseen challenge.

Any ideas?