Become a ltxtech.com member, Click here to register!
BP-Automotive

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    InActive Member

Status

Default CTSV front brakes.

I just wrapped up the CTSV front brake conversion. It was fairly simple, but I did run into a few gotchyas and most write ups found are for LS1 cars. The process is similar but has a couple minor differences. I didn't take pictures of the process, as there isn't too much to it, but I will still do a bit of a walk through. I do have various pictures that should help either regardless. Please excuse the filth in the pictures. The car is my daily driver. It gets driven in rain, snow, sleet, sun, and traffic. It has been cold and cleaning the car has been low on the priorities.

A little about me; just so it's known that I'm not some idiot behind a screen. I'm about to turn 29 years old. I've been a mechanic professionally (saying that makes me feel special) for about 9 years now. I got my ASE certifications a few years ago in brakes, suspension, engine repair and engine performance. Just to make it clear, engine performance isn't the cool stuff, it's about emissions and drivability. While the certs don't mean much, as they are mostly a word game, they do add a bit of credibility. As of right now, I work for UPS as a mechanic and have been there for 2 years. I was at my previous shop for 6 years.

On to the brakes. Keep in mind, these brakes need a minimum of an 18" wheel to clear without grinding the caliper. My particular wheels (XXR 526, 18x9, 35mm offset) are very cheap in how they are built. They are basically like a 17" wheel with an 18" drum on them. I had to grind the hell out of the calipers to get them to clear. Also, in my case, I needed a wheel spacer for the spokes of the wheel to clear the caliper.

So for a LT1 car, you will need:

-CTSV 4-piston calipers